Mk2 Escort

Motorsport in Northern Ireland

Motorsport in Northern Ireland is regulated by 4 governing bodies, detailed below.

In addition, Northern Ireland has 3 permanent circuits:

Kirkiston Motor Racing Circuit - Kircubbin

Nutts Corner Circuit - Crumlin

Bishopscourt Circuit - Downpatrick



MCUI Shield.jpgThe Motorcycle Union of Ireland ( )

Founded in January 1903, the Motor Cycle Union of Ireland (Ulster Centre) is the governing body for Road Racing, Short Circuits and Trials within the 9 counties of Ulster. Today the Ulster Centre consists of 27 affiliated clubs/bodies which, together with a number of appointed officials, form the Council of the Centre. The Business of the Centre is conducted by a number of specialist committees appointed by the Council at the Annual General Meeting. Two of the central bodies are the Tarmac and Trials Committees


Mervyn Whyte MBE

Jim Cray



anicc new logo (2).jpgThe Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs (

The ANICC role has been to harmonise and assemble the dates, to promote the Northern Ireland Championships, to liaise with its own and other Governing bodies of the sport and with Government departments, Sports Councils, the Lottery Fund and other sources of grant aid. The ANICC is here to provide assistance and guidance to all its clubs and competitors in promoting their sport


Nicky Moffitt

William Fullerton


The Motorcycle Racing Association (

The MRA is the official Governing Body of motocross, quadcross, supermoto & enduro in Ulster.



Neil Loughery

Roy Neill


NIKA_Logo2005_BlkPaths.jpgThe North of Ireland Karting Association ( )

NIKA is the governing body for karting in Northern Ireland. It operates to assist its member clubs run the sport in Northern Ireland.
Its primary role is to:
- Co ordinate race dates between clubs
- Organise the Northern Ireland Karting Championships
- Issue race numbers for all events in Northern Ireland
- Maintain consistent rules at all clubs, under the approval   of the MSA
- Liase with external bodies to secure funding.
- Represent Northern Ireland karting as part of the MSA - Regional Kart Committee


Richard Dewart

Stephen Tosh

Motorcycle Union of Ireland (Ulster Centre) Motorcycle Racing Association Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs NIKA